Beer Corner USA’a Holiday Beerfest 2016

fullsizerender

You have to wear an ugly sweater, or in my case a cardigan, when going to a Holiday Beerfest.

This is a Winter Beerfest I always really enjoy. Sure, it’s packed and you don’t have much room to move around, but damn is it fun. New people to talk to, new people to watch and GREAT local beer. This is a tradition now for my wife and myself to go to. Always a good time at the Holiday Beerfest.

fullsizerender-copy-3

This year we convinced some friends of ours to come. They had a great time and it added even more fun to the event for us. In the picture, you can tell it’s sort of packed. This was in only one area of Crescent Moon. This was downstairs. Glad we started downstairs this year. We were able to get a table and sort of chill this year. Downstairs was some great beers by West O (Okoboji, Iowa), Millstream (Amana, Iowa), Peace Tree (Knoxville, Iowa) and Kinkaider (Broken Bow, Nebraska). Kinkaider has been a favorite of mine in the short amount of time they have been around. Their whole line of beer is out of this world. They make my favorite winter beer which is called Snow Beast. Overall it’s definitely in my Top 15 beers I have ever had. It has such a smooth cinnamon taste.

fullsizerender-copy-2

Mandatory glass shot that is required when at a Beerfest.

We proceeded upstairs to the mob of people. Up there I found an old friend who I met through my time as a pro wrestler and who is a huge craft beer lover as well. He helped me discover a few liquid refreshments I passed by. I had, what may be the BEST, cider ever. I am not a cider guy at all, but HOT DAMN! Crown Valley Brewery (Genevieve, Missouri) made this Gingerbread Cookie Cider that blew my mind. I mean this is something that should be in my fridge now. Out of this freaking world man. It tasted just like a gingerbread cookie. I said it tasted just like a gingerbread cookie. Well done Crown Valley, well done. Somehow I passed New Belgium’s Ben & Jerry’s Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ale. Spot on with this flavor. It is ice cream in beer form. Brilliant tasting is all I can really say. Before we left we hit up BlueBlood Brewing (Lincoln, Nebraska) were I got to experience their Peach Gose. It tasted just like peaches and was a perfect Gose. There’s nothing that I can really say that would do BlueBlood any justice on their Gose. It was glorious.

fullsizerender-copy

I am a stout and porter guy. I love the Sculpin series by Ballast Point (San Diego, California) but I discovered Mocha Marlin right before we left. This was a beautiful tasting beer. I definitely became a huge fan and Ballast Point shows why they’re a top brewery with their varieties. I am happy this was what I ended on for my beer.

Again, this was a great festival. I did miss one of my favorites who was not present this year, Keg Creek (Glenwood, Iowa). The owner is a real nice guy and makes some real good stuff. I don’t know what I missed more, his beer or his conversation. He is a great person. So, if you’re in the area next year and want to go to a great Holiday Beerfest, this is the place to be.

Leave a Reply

