ZipLine Brewing Company

ZipLine Brewing Company’s (ZL) Oatmeal Porter was the first local craft beer I ever had. Like many other craft beer drinkers, my first taste of craft was Delirium. I remember having that first taste of the Oatmeal Porter and was in awe. It didn’t take long for me to finish it. Fast forward three years later, and ZL is still a regular in my beer fridge.

ZL first opened up in 2012 in Lincoln, Nebraska. ZL has five year round beers that are all top tier. The Copper Alt, which is described off of ZL’s website, as a hybrid style between an ale and a lager, this bronze-hued brew goes down easy with subtle nuances of chocolate and hazelnut. In 2015, the Copper Alt won a Gold Medal at the Great American Beer Fest (super awesome huge beerfest). Along with ZL’s year round beer, they also five seasonal brews. My favorite seasonal is definitely the Winter Ale. But wait, there’s more. ZL has some limited series brews too. Crazy huh? I’m torn on which one is my favorite in that category. I love the Black IPA (I am a hophead) and I also love the Double Chocolate Stout. And there are still more categories. ZL’s 750 series has three brews and they are all good. There are two great IPAs in the Rye IPA and Double NZ IPA (Hophead in me comes out again). The last category ZL has is the Barrel-Aged.  ZL has three brews in that category. The BA Chocolate Stout is by far my favorite. The sweet chocolate taste mixes well with the slight taste of bourbon and wine.

ZL consistently turns out very good products and at every local beerfest I go to, I make sure to go to their tent. The best ZL news I’ve heard this year, was that ZL is opening up a taproom in the Slowdown complex. So that’s just another reason to love ZL, they support local music.

You can find ZL’s products pretty much everywhere locally. They’re at Beertopia, Hy-Vee, Spirit World. Also, hit up their website http://ziplinebrewing.com/ for the whole listing of beer in the categories mentioned above and any other pertinent information you need.

Leave a Reply

